Fond Farewells and Warm Welcomes

Fri May 19, 2023

new and returning commissioners

On Thursday, May 18, the Downers Grove Park District swore in newly elected Commissioner Craig Lundt and re-elected Commissioners Bret Bender and Jon Dahlstrom.

The Downers Grove Park District Board of Commissioners appointed the following officers:

  • Bob Kotula - President
  • Sandra McDonnell - Vice President
  • Bret Bender - Secretary
  • Jon Dahlstrom - Treasurer

President Cathy Mahoney

The District also bid a fond farewell to outgoing President Cathy Mahoney and honored her for their dedication and service to the community. President Cathy Mahoney has served on the board since 2005 and was instrumental in the following highlighted projects during her 18-year tenure.

  • Construction of the current Veterans Memorial Pavilion at Fishel Park
  • Installation of synthetic turf at Doerhoefer Park in 2006 and replaced in 2018
  • Lyman Woods Streambank Stabilization Project
  • McCollum Park Infrastructure Project with sports field lighting, irrigation, ball field backstops, core concession plaza and large picnic pavilion
  • Washington Park playground, shelter, fountain and ball field seating
  • Numerous Belmont Golf Club clubhouse and course improvements plus the addition of a driving range shelter and lesson canopy
  • Dredging projects at Barth Bond in 2015 and Prince Pond in 2019
  • Renovation and completion of the 1846 Blodgett House, which was recently recognized by the National Park Service as a new listing on the National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom
  • Enhanced Park Board and District transparency utilizing the BoardPaq online portal, Zoom meetings and video recordings
  • Construction of the McCollum Park Improvement Project including a new sprayground, renovated pickleball/tennis courts, picnic plaza and perimeter path improvements
  • Downers Grove Park District recognized as an Illinois Distinguished Accredited Agency
  • Playground installations and renovations at:
    • McCollum Park (2005)
    • Constitution Park (2005)
    • Ruth K. Powers Park (2005)
    • Fishel Park (2005)
    • Whitlock Park (2006)
    • Doerhoefer Park (2007)
    • Ebersold Park (2007)
    • Hummer Park (2008)
    • Washington Park (2010)
    • Gilbert Park (2013)
    • Memorial Park (2014)
    • Patriots Park (2014)
    • O’Brien Park (2018)
    • Hooper’s Hollow Park (2019)
    • Dunham Place Park (2022)